After eight matchups and 16 contenders we have narrowed our list down to the Elite Eight! With a mix of POMO, modernism, and contemporary architecture, the Elite Eight will be a heated round of eliminations, sending four towers home while advancing Chicago’s Final Four as voted by all of you!

Here are our contenders for today:


(8) One Chicago

One ChicagoGoettsch Partners


1 W. Chicago

Height: 971 feet

Floors: 78

Constructed: 2019-2022

Architect: Hartshorne Plunkard Architecture and Goettsch Partners

Developer: JDL Development

One ChicagoGoettsch Partners

Just completed last year, One Chicago is a luxury mixed-use development that features two residential towers connected by a mixed-use podium. Designed by Hartshorne Plunkard Architecture and Goettsch Partners, the project includes 735 apartments, 77 condominiums, 55,000 square feet of office space, 188,000 square feet of retail space, and a LifeTime fitness and wellness center. The tower’s design consists of fve vertical, rectilinear bars that step back at varying heights, creating multiple large terraces and making the tower more slender as it rises. Expressive fins vary in width to reinforce the verticality of the building, giving the facade a distinct texture.


(11) 900 N. Michigan

900 N. MichiganCTBUH


900 N. Michigan

Height: 871 feet

Floors: 66

Constructed: 1987-1989

Architect: Kohn Pedersen Fox

Developer: Urban Retail Properties

900 N. MichiganCTBUH

Located along the Mag Mile diagonally across from Friday’s winner the John Hancock Center, 900 N. Michigan is another postmodern skyscraper flanking the famous retail corridor. Designed by KOhn Pedersen Fox, the tower is clad in limestone and green glass, topped by four lanterns that light up the skyline. The building’s podium houses a seven-story vertical mall similar to Water Tower Place, while upper floors include a Four Seasons Hotel on levels 30-46 and 106 condominiums on floors 48-66. Floors 8-28 were originally office space, but levels 21-28 were converted into more condos in 2007.


Vote now!